top of page

About Us

The Full Story

The Taylors Lakes Cricket Club (TLCC) was established in 1982. In its inaugural season, one senior and one junior team represented Taylors Lakes in the Essendon, Broadmeadows, and Keilor Cricket Association (EBKCA). Peter Sincoe was both the first chairman and senior captain of the TLCC.


The first ball faced by a Taylors Lakes batsman in a senior match was particularly notable, as Bob Hughes was unfortunately dismissed for a golden duck. The club’s first matches were in October of 1982, and the club’s home ground was actually located at Sydenham (at the current Bunning’s site) just off the Keilor Melton highway. Players had to make do without clubrooms, and facilities comprised simply of a storage shed for the matting wickets, and an outhouse, which was serviced by a night watchman once a week. It has been said that in those early days of cricket for Taylors Lakes it was not uncommon to find a tiger snake in the outfield, or to see a snake catcher busy at work during games.


TLCC’s home ground moved to Lionheart Reserve in the 1986/87 season on a ground where the Taylors Lakes Primary School now sits, and continued at that site until the state government decided that a secondary college was also required for the area. This saw cricket move to the oval in its current location. At the time clubrooms were shared with the tennis club, and by 1990 a concrete pitch was poured at the current location for matches to be played on synthetic rather than matting wickets.


Taylors Lakes’ first senior premiership came in the season of 1986/87 in the “C” grade of the EBKA, with strangely enough Taylors Lakes 3rds playing against Taylors Lakes 4ths. From the 1990s onwards TLCC was lucky enough to taste finals glory fairly regularly. Though several senior premierships were won in lower grades over the years (1991/92 4ths; 2003/04 2nds; 2004/05 3rds; 2006/07 3rds; 2008/09 5ths), our four 1st XI flags are the proudest successes of the club. The season of 1998/99 saw the first win for Taylors Lakes in the top division of the NWCA, the Luscombe Shield. The 2000s saw the beginning of a period of great success for the club, and from 2006-07 to 2008-09 the 1st XI won three consecutive Luscombe Shield Flags.


The sustained success of the club culminated in being asked during the 2008-09 season to make the move to turf cricket by the Victorian Turf Cricket Association. Two teams were fielded in the “A” grade competition in 2009-10, and by the 2011/12 season Taylors Lakes had its own turf table at Lionheart Reserve. The second XI won the club’s first turf premiership in the 2010-11 season, under the captaincy of club legend Simon Haigh.


In season 2016/17, the club made the move to the Victorian Sub District Cricket Association with the first XI playing finals in its inaugural subbies cricket season.

bottom of page